EXHIBITIONS 2022

September 2022
Sophie Perry
Prémisse

From September 6 to October 11 2022, the Centre d’artistes Voix Visuelle hosted the exhibition Prémisse (Premise), by Sophie Perry.

Sophie Perry trained in contortion at the Centre Régional des Arts du Cirque de Lomme, in France, then studied at the École Supérieur d’Art de Tourcoing, where she obtained her DNAP in 2016. Back in Quebec, she completed her bachelor’s degree in visual and media arts, teaching profile at UQAM in 2019. In addition to teaching in several Montreal schools, she exhibited at the Center des arts de Chicoutimi in 2020, at the Atoll center, Victoriaville in 2022 and has participated in several collaborative projects presented in France and Quebec.

Prémisse deals with the relationship between humans and cyber-machines inspired by pop culture rather than taking stock of digital technology, extrapolating to the point of absurdity the representations that we make of technological tools, like a magnifying mirror of our behaviours towards them.
Playing on popular representations of artificial intelligence, especially those explored in Hollywood movies, Prémisse questions with humor our beliefs about technology; are we not too inclined to lend these machines a form of intentionality close to our own?

Le Centre d’artistes Voix Visuelle would like to thank the Ontario Arts Council, Canadian Heritage, the City of Ottawa, AGAVF, Marcil Lavallée and Caisse Desjardins Ontario for their support.

April 2022
John Graham
Miroir ambigu

From April 12 to May 17 2022, the Centre d’artistes Voix Visuelle will host the exhibition The Ambiguous mirror, by John Graham.

Multidisciplinary artist and experimental filmmaker, John Graham entwines art practices by drawing inspiration from poetic narration that he mixes with kinetic concepts in order to conceive new visual interpretations inspired, most definitely, by a surreal universe.

The exhibition features an installation of digital photo-collages with experimental dance films. The still imagery presents enigmatic visual narratives as reconfigured historic “Wild West” imagery. The 4 dreamlike videos are tinged with silent film influences. His “video-dances” are the result of collaborations from two artist residencies (Budapest and Montreal) and have been viewed in more than a hundred film festivals around the world. Each of these body of works uniquely explores the lyricism of the subconscious and the complex nature of inner knowledge.

Le Centre d’artistes Voix Visuelle would like to thank the Ontario Arts Council, Canadian Heritage, the City of Ottawa, AGAVF, Marcil Lavallée and the Caisse Desjardins Ontario for their support.

January 2022
Christopher Payne
There Will Come Soft Rains

From March 1 to April 2, 2022, the Centre d’artistes Voix Visuelle will host the exhibition There Will Come Soft Rains, by Christopher Payne.
The artist is an “art farmer” who probes the relationship between objects, mediation and culture. He holds an MFA from the University of Ottawa and has participated in numerous exhibitions in Canada and elsewhere. He was originally trained in cinema, then his work and interests broadened to include sound, sculpture, video art, and virtual spaces. With his exhibition, he explores the richness and emptiness left by the experience of virtual reality as well as the interrelationships that operate between a medium and its properties.

Le Centre d’artistes Voix Visuelle would like to thank the Ontario Arts Council, Canadian Heritage, the City of Ottawa, AGAVF, Marcil Lavallée, Digital Arts Resource Centre and the Caisse Desjardins Ontario for their support.

Comments are closed.

EXPOSITIONS 2022

Septembre 2022
Sophie Perry
Prémisse

Du 6 septembre au 11 Octobre 2022, le Centre d’artistes Voix Visuelle a accueilli en ses murs l’exposition Prémisse, de Sophie Perry.

Sophie Perry a suivi une formation en contorsion au Centre Régional des Arts du Cirque de Lomme, puis, a étudié à l’École Supérieur d’Art de Tourcoing, où elle a obtenu son diplôme national d’art plastique en 2016. De retour au Québec, elle termine son baccalauréat en arts visuels et médiatiques, profil enseignement, à l’UQAM en 2019. En plus d’enseigner dans plusieurs écoles montréalaises, elle a exposé au Centre des arts de Chicoutimi en 2020, au centre Atoll de Victoriaville en 2022 et a participé à plusieurs projets collaboratifs présentés en France et au Québec.

Prémisse traite de la relation entre l’humain et la cyber-machine inspirée par la culture pop plutôt que de faire état des lieux de la technologie numérique, extrapolant jusqu’à l’absurde les représentations que l’on se fait des outils technologiques, tel un miroir grossissant de nos comportements face à ceux-ci.
Jouant sur les représentations populaires de l’intelligence artificielle, notamment celles explorées dans les films hollywoodiens, Prémisse interroge avec humour nos croyances face aux technologies ; Ne sommes-nous pas trop enclins à prêter à ces machines une forme d’intentionnalité proche de la nôtre ?

Le Centre d’artistes Voix Visuelle remercie le Conseil des arts de l’Ontario, Patrimoine canadien, la Ville d’Ottawa, l’AGAVF, Marcil Lavallée et la Caisse Desjardins Ontario de leur appui.

Avril 2022
John Graham
Miroir ambigu

Du 12 avril au 17 mai 2022, le Centre d’artistes Voix Visuelle a accueilli en ses murs l’exposition Le Miroir ambigu, de John Graham.
Artiste multidisciplinaire et cinéaste expérimental, John Graham travestit les pratiques artistiques en s’inspirant de la narration poétique qu’il métisse avec des concepts cinétiques afin de concevoir de nouvelles interprétations visuelles inspirées d’un univers décidément surréaliste.
L’exposition présentait une installation de photo-collages numériques avec des films de danse expérimentale. L’imagerie fixe présente des récits visuels énigmatiques comme des images historiques reconfigurées du « Far West ». Les 4 vidéos oniriques sont teintées d’influences muettes. Ses « vidéo-danses » sont le fruit des collaborations de deux résidences d’artistes (Budapest et Montréal) et ont été vues dans plus d’une centaine de festivals de films à travers le monde. Chacune de ces œuvres explore de manière unique le lyrisme du subconscient et la nature complexe de la connaissance intérieure.

Le Centre d’artistes Voix Visuelle remercie le Conseil des arts de l’Ontario, Patrimoine canadien, la Ville d’Ottawa, l’AGAVF, Marcil Lavallée et la Caisse Desjardins Ontario de leur appui.

Janvier 2022
Christopher Payne
There Will Come Soft Rains

Du 1er mars au 2 avril 2022, le Centre d’artistes Voix Visuelle a présenté en ses murs l’exposition There Will Come Soft Rains (Il viendra des pluies douces), de Christopher Payne.
L’artiste est un « agriculteur d’art » qui sonde la relation entre les objets, la médiation et la culture. Il détient une maîtrise en beaux-arts de l’Université d’Ottawa et a participé à de nombreuses expositions au Canada et ailleurs. Il a initialement été formé en cinématographie, puis son travail et ses intérêts se sont élargis pour inclure le son, la sculpture, l’art vidéo et les espaces virtuels. Avec son exposition, il explore la richesse et le vide laissés par l’expérience de la réalité virtuelle ainsi que les interrelations qui s’opèrent entre un média et ses propriétés.

Le Centre d’artistes Voix Visuelle remercie le Conseil des arts de l’Ontario, Patrimoine canadien, la Ville d’Ottawa, l’AGAVF, Marcil Lavallée, Digital Arts Resource Centre et la Caisse Desjardins Ontario de leur appui.

Les commentaires sont fermés.